Keebler and Triscuit

RIP Keebler.  You were such a sweet dog.

Keebler

Keebler is my sister-in-law’s dog.  She had to be put to sleep this last Saturday.  The cancer had progressed to a point where she could not function well anymore.

She didn’t even act sick the last time I saw her about a week and a half ago.  Once the disease started to really affect her, it took hold very quickly.

The one thing I will never forget about Keebler was the day about a year ago, when my neck pain had become so bad that I was experiencing the worst headache I’d ever had.  Keebler was visiting for the weekend and she was sitting on the bed with me when I started bawling from the pain.  That sweet dog set her paw on my hand.  It was a small gesture, but it was so sweet.  She knew I was in pain and she was trying to comfort me.

*****************************************************************
*****************************************************************
*****************************************************************
RIP Triscuit.  I didn’t know you much but I know that the loss will be felt deeply by your family.

Triscuit is my brother’s cat.  She died recently (it was posted to Facebook on Saturday, but I’m not sure if that was the day it happened…please forgive my ignorance of the facts).

I’ve only met this cat a few times in her long life, but I think it’s safe to say that her family will sorely miss her.  I was struck by the lengths that they have gone through to maintain her health and life.  That speaks volumes about the relevance of her life.  (“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated”. Mahatma Gandhi).

*********************************************************

I’ve been pondering the significance of the fact that both of these beloved pets died on my birthday.  I suppose now that I will never forget the day that they departed this earth.  I wonder if I have some kind of cosmic connection to them that I have yet to realize.   “The Circle of Life” song has been playing in my head ever since Saturday.  Is that weird?

At the very least, it makes me remember to hold my own pets closer and give them all the affection I can while they are able to be with me. 

Maybe Keebler and Triscuit are new BFFs in their new life and are learning the ropes together.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

