Raising an eyebrow…

So, I love Mr. Rogers. 

There was a time when I thought I was too old for him (ages 8-18ish), and there was a time when I ignored him (ages 19-24ish).

But he forgave me for all that 😉 .

Because he is just that kind of guy.

No, I didn’t personally know him, but I still cried when he died.  And on the anniversary of his death a year later, I cried again.

To me he represented a special time of the day when my youngest would come home from kindergarten and we would sit together and eat lunch and watch Mr. Rogers together.  He was such a calming presence.

That being said, I hope my buddy Fred sees the humor in this…

There is a billboard in the city we live in that has a picture of Mr. Rogers.

And it says, (of course), “Won’t you be my neighbor?”

Um…

I like cemetaries and all, but I don’t think I want to come be anybody’s neighbor there…not yet anyway!

I was quite perplexed by what this billboard was trying to advertise.

It seemed like maybe it was a church billboard, so maybe they were trying to invite people to church?

Or heaven?

It’s a little weird.

Do you think someone just didn’t do their homework and didn’t know that Mr. Rogers is dead?

Or were they trying to be clever?

I think it’s a little crass to use his image for an advertisement.  But maybe that’s just me.

This entry was posted in Just thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raising an eyebrow…

  1. Holly says:

    I’d bet no one realized he was dead. Otherwise, the message in that marketing would be a huge stretch for most readers.

Leave a Reply

