We have rejoined the age of technology!

We don’t have cable tv.  (Is that what people even call it anymore?  I’ve been using it as a bit of an umbrella term).

To me having cable tv is a bit like having potato chips AND dip in the house.  Big trouble.  I know my weaknesses.  (Maybe.  Don’t test me on it).

We do however, have a gigantic antenna on top of our house. 

I’m not sure why it was there when we moved in 15 years ago, because there are cable wires all over the house.  Were those people too lazy to take down the antenna?  Or were they like us, and someone else left the cable for them and they didn’t use it either?  I’m sure the people after us will have the same question, because we have never bothered to remove the cable wires.  But, of course, by then, cable tv will probably be obsolete.

Anyway, recently, when I put in the new bedroom floor (see it here) , I moved the furniture around. 

Including the TV.

Which has been in the same spot almost the entire time we’ve lived here. 

I moved it one other time, but the reception sucked, so I moved it back. 

I don’t know why I thought it would work out better this time.  The reception sucked.  We went down to about 2 channels.  We suffered with it for a couple of weeks (thanks to the library DVDs).  And then I couldn’t take it anymore and I moved it back to the traditional spot.

And the whole thing just fell apart. 

Not only did we NOT get better reception in the traditional spot, but it was just as bad as the spot we just moved it from.

So, my husband decided to put in a new antenna.  (Can you believe such a thing still exists as a new product…GASP!).

The Latest Technology! (for our house)

Oh…….yeah…….he didn’t take down the old one.

So, now we are a two-antenna family.

With TWELVE channels.

We are living high off the (vegetarian) hog now!

Now “The Jeffersons” theme is stuck in my head!

And yes, I do know all the words to the song.

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Organization and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We have rejoined the age of technology!

  1. Erika says:

    I bet with the 12 channels there is still nothing good on 🙂 And thanks for that theme song, now it is in my head!

    • tragical40 says:

      Lucky for me, I watch television for the vegging out aspect! Although, there is FAR too much reality TV…blech!

      And you are ever so welcome 😉 …just sharin’ the wealth, darlin’!

  2. You’re not alone. We don’t have cable TV either. We’ve had the TV in a couple of spots too, and have found a spot that gives us all of the local channels except FOX… which is no big deal in my opinion.

    • tragical40 says:

      Have you seen this new campaign to turn off FOX…there is quite the backlash against the news on that station.
      I think the only thing we ever watch on that station is The Simpsons, so we probably wouldn’t miss that station much.

Leave a Reply

