Drawing

 

We’ve been doing a major purging of the house.  It’s amazing the things you find in the process. 

Here’s a drawing I did almost 15 years ago.  I had bought a book about drawing from photos. 

Before that, I always thought I was just one of those people who couldn’t draw.  This book made me realize that not only can I draw, but that anybody can draw. 

It’s just a matter of taking the steps one at a time. 

And it’s important to take your time. 

I never framed this drawing because I never really “finished” it.  I had drawn the grid lines on it too dark and I didn’t know how to remedy that situation. 

But when I found it last week, I thought it added a little character to it to have the grid lines still vaguely showing…a little DaVinci-esk, don’t you think?

I found another one, but it didn’t turn out as good…it was quite a bit harder, being that the eyes and the mouth were open.

I have one that I framed and I’ve had it displayed in my house off and on throughout the years.

But this one that I found is probably my favorite…at least for now.  (Despite the smudge marks on the side of it).

I’ve recently given away the book and drawing supplies that were still lingering.  I’m a dabbler.  And I’ve come to terms with the fact that I probably am not going to pursue drawing any further than I did all those years ago.  Maybe.

It’s just too time consuming.

And I have so many other things to dabble in.

But still…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Drawing

  1. Erika says:

    You seriously have some talent. You should frame it.

    My dad is taking a sketch class starting next week. He is SO excited!

  2. Molly says:

    I love this and how you reflect on it. Very nicely done. Finding treasures like that as you go through your house can be such a cool experience.

    • tragical40 says:

      Even though purging can be a little bit stressful, there are moments that make it totally fun. I love finding stuff like that! It makes you remember that you have done things…’cause sometimes the memory can get a little fuzzy!

  3. purplume says:

    It has such a lovely feel to it. Kudos.

  4. I loooove this work of art!! Be proud, you are truly an “artista maximista”. xxxooo

    Elaine
    P.S. Hope all is well with you and your family!

Leave a Reply

