The Worst Marital Advice I’ve Ever Heard

The other day I heard a woman exclaiming about the best marital advice she’d ever heard. 

Now, I mean no offense to this woman by posting about it.  Rather, I feel it might be my duty as a good citizen of the world, to put my personal opinion on the table here.

As you may or may not know, I loathe to call myself an expert in matters that deal with the human mind.  It seems to me you are just asking for it, if you give someone else marital advice.

However, after almost 19 years of marriage, I think, maybe, knock on wood, cross my fingers, wish on a star, throw salt over my shoulder…

…that I may be qualified to at least recognize BAD marital advice.

And if the advice this woman was given was the BEST marital advice she’d ever heard, it really makes me wonder what other advice she’s been given!

The advice?

If you and your spouse/SO are having an argument and are angry with eachother, you should laugh at him/her and just walk away.  At least you will feel better.

I’m pretty sure that I don’t even need to comment further on that.  The fact that I’m posting about it should be an indication of my opinion of that idea.

Just a  quick fact about the situation here.  And again, I mean no disrespect for the woman who I overheard talking about this.  I just want to make the picture a little clearer, so that you can understand my dismay.  The woman who was given this advice was not married.  I believe her status is that she is on the road towards engagement with her long time boyfriend.  I just hate to think that this was the advice that she was given, because, to me, that is a sure-fire way to brew resentment in your spouse/boyfriend.  I’d hate to think that this is the way that anyone would be starting out their married life.

This entry was posted in Just thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Worst Marital Advice I’ve Ever Heard

  1. Rebecca says:

    Wow that is crazy. That advice isn’t good for any type of relationship whether it be a romantic relationship or a simple friendship.

  2. I teach conflict resolution for a living and I have to agree that was terrible advice. It is insulting and demeaning and very passive aggressive.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • tragical40 says:

      Thanks… it’s good to have confirmation from somebody who deals with it all the time!

    • Holly says:

      I agree that this “advice” is passive-aggressive. And SO disrespectful.

      Maybe some better advice would be: “If you and your spouse/SO are having an argument and are angry with each other, you should come back and read this advice and laugh at it. At least you both will feel better after a good laugh.”

      Seriously, though. A quick humor break can be relaxing…and then you can move on to discussing the issues at hand.

Leave a Reply

