A Trip Down Memory Lane

My Gram’s home has undergone quite a lot of changes in the last 10 years.  My cousin has been working hard to fix it up for her.  I wished I’d had the forethought to take pictures before all the work was started.  The house was a goldmine of interesting (at least to me) details.  Today I managed to get a few pictures of some of the old things that still remain the way they were.   I lived a good portion of my childhood here, so needless to say, it evokes a few memories for me.  It’s funny how the pictures don’t seem to match what is in my head.  Hope I don’t bore you too much.

Window lock

Window lock

Wooden windows

Wooden windows

I just love the grid windows! Wish I still had some in my house!

The 3 billion year old door (approximately)

The 3 billion year old door (approximately)

 This door is so old it won’t even close into the door frame!  Notice the skeleton key lock.

The 3 and 1/2 billion years old porch door (also an approximation)

The 3 and 1/2 billion years old porch door (also an approximation)

 I’d be willing to bet this is an original door.  Leads to probably the favorite place of the house!

3 and 1/2 billion year old closet door

3 and 1/2 billion year old closet door

 The walk-in closet.  I remember playing in here.  Gram used to have a basket of old Barbie dolls in there…the ones with bendable knees that creaked when you bent them…and Barbie outfits…the beautiful pink ballroom dress and the super cool sparkly silver jumpsuit that covered even the boots!  She also had an old slip that was large enough to cover an old hoop skirt.  We loved to use it for dressing up as a bride.

Latch

Latch

Old fashioned door latch

Old fashioned door latch

Have you ever seen these anywhere else?!  Love that they are still there! 

Corner Stairwell

Corner Stairwell

I know that plenty of stairs have a corner.  It’s just funny to remember…my parents once sawed a bedframe in half to get it up those stairs! 

Stairway railing

Stairway railing

This railing has stood the test of time.  And I don’t think anyone has ever fallen over it…not that there weren’t close calls! 

Bathtub from the beginning of time

Bathtub from the beginning of time

 Ah…the bathtub.  So well worn!  Gram’s water is pumped from a well, so the water pressure in the upstairs shower would slow to a drizzle whenever the downstairs toilet was flushed (inevitably while you still had a head full of lathered up shampoo running into your eyes).  Good times! 

Wish I could get a picture of the cellar for you, but that would be a pretty big task.  I remember many times when the pump in the cellar had to be primed and we kids would be sent up to the neighbors to get some water.  I’m sure that’s a fond memory for my parents and Gram too 😉 !

The green chair in the corner

The green chair in the corner

I can’t remember a time when there wasn’t a green chair in this corner (this isn’t the original one, though).  This window is a great place for indoor sittin’ and watchin’ for the cars to come up the road.  Oh, oh the Wells Fargo wagon is a comin’… 

Woodstove

Woodstove

 The house was fully heated by a woodstove.  This is the newer one.

Passage between kitchen and living room

Passage between kitchen and living room

 The fingerprints are no longer there, but this used to be the spot where my brother (in particular) would jump up and tap it every time he passed under it.  He’s taller now.  He doesn’t have to jump anymore.

Kitchen sink window

Kitchen sink window

 Another area I covet.  If you ignore the car in the driveway, you might catch a glimpse of the partial view.  I almost think I would enjoy dishes if I had that window above my sink.  Of course, I had no idea what an awesome feature that was when I was a grumpy teenager slaving over the dishes!

Original cupboards?

Original cupboards?

 Check out the pig cutting board 🙂 .

 

Intercom

Intercom

 Multi-purpose architecture!  It was a heating vent, but we also used it for hollering messages to eachother.  The most common message was, “TURN DOWN THE TV!”.  My sister swears that one time she was summoned from her bedroom upstairs to come down and change the channel on the TV in the living room.  No, she did not have the remote upstairs…that was before the remote!

The best place for sittin'

The best place for sittin'

Everyone should have one of these!  I’m so jealous! 

Overflow sittin' area

Overflow sittin' area

Imagine the tire swing

Imagine the tire swing

 It was complete with water in the bottom of the tire and bees buzzing around it.

The garage

The garage

This probably was where the seed of vegetarianism was planted in my mind.  The day we moved in when I was 7 years old, there was a dead hog hanging upside down in this garage…with its head cut off.

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Just thinking, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

