Greyhound

DH says I shouldn’t jump the gun.  I should wait to see if they make amends.  So I try not to be a big a$$hole about it.  But it makes me upset.  I don’t think it’s very nice of Greyhound to justify my motherly paranoia!  Tsk, tsk!

I’ve been trying to let the kids experience a little more independence.  It’s good practice…I hope.  But that doesn’t stop me from worrying.  Anyway, we decided this would be a good time to let older boy take a bus out to see my sister for a week in Waltham.  He’s 16.  It’s time.  Right???

It was supposed to be a 7 hour trip.  One change of buses.  Two other stops (no changes) with around 40 minutes of layover time. 

The bus was late arriving here for the first leg of the trip.

By 40 minutes

He missed the connecting bus.  The bus driver didn’t wait for them. 

This is the part where my husband wants me to be patient, because he says that the bus station owned up to that mistake.  They said the bus driver was new…that’s how the mistake happened.  (I hope DH is right.  My cynical self keeps wondering if they are just passing the buck). 

Someone at the bus station helped my son fill out a complaint form.  So we have to wait and see if they do anything to compensate us (again my cynical self thinks they will just wait and hope we forget about it until it is too late to take any action). 

Meanwhile, my son was stuck at a bus station about 45 minutes from my sister’s house.  The two solutions the bus station presented to us: 

  • He could take a bus into the city of Boston and change buses there to take him back to Framingham (where he was originally supposed to end up).

OR:

  • He could wait about 5 hours for the next bus to Framingham.

 

My sister (bless her soul for eternity) went and picked him up.

 

After the confirmation that my paranoia was indeed justified, I felt the need today to call Greyhound at two different phone numbers and verify that:

  • my son was not going to have his return (round trip) ticket voided because he didn’t take the last leg of the trip out there.  (We’ve learned our lesson around here about that!  It’s another story).

and:

  • that if the bus was late again for the connection on the way home, that the bus driver would wait and my son would not miss that connection.   Because that would be over a 4 hour drive for us to go get him.  Kind of defeats the purpose of him taking a bus, ya know.

I was assured by a very nice sounding woman (Katarina) at the Framingham station that she would make sure my son would make that connection…he should just check in with her.  Phew!  If that woman does what she says, she should be in charge of ALL customer service!  And get a ridiculously large raise!

 

Okay, I’m going to stop worrying about it now.

 

Until the day he is supposed to come home.

 

Somebody remind me to post an update if I forget.

This entry was posted in Irksomes, Just thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Greyhound

  1. Jane says:

    Greyhound Bus drivers aren’t always the sharpest knives in the drawer, if you get my drift. When I went to my grandmother’s funeral, the driver said to me, “Do you want me to put your luggage in the storage compartment under the bus?” and I was numb and said sure. When I got there, I asked for my bag, and he said, “Oh! I left it in Ithaca!”

    I said to him, “How could you do that?” (i mean, it’s part of his job, right?) and the guy got a smirking look on his face and he got down on his knees and intoned, “I BEG your FORGIVENESS!”

    That was pretty much it for me. I’m a native New YOrker. I was standing over him and I shouted, “I have to go to my grandmother’s funeral and you left my bag in Ithaca after you told me you would put it in the luggage compartment!” The guy turned pale and then brought me to his supervisor, who told me the bag would be put on the next bus and that I could pick it up the next morning. I should have insisted they FedEx it to me, but I didn’t think of it at the time.

    My point being: apparently it’s too difficult for some of these people to do their jobs. I’m sorry your son got the brunt of their unconcern.

    • Jane says:

      The people who are supposed to be regulating this kind of thing all got on a bus to go to the conference for Bus Regulators back in 1996, and they’ve never been heard from since!

      I was lucky in that we did have an alternate because so many students went from Ithaca to NYC that there were two smaller companies that did only that run, and they were more reliable.

  2. Jb says:

    I have heard so many bad stories about Greyhound…that’s what makes me so nervous. The problem is that they have no real competition so they can get away with it. I wonder where the people are who are supposed to be regulating this kind of thing.

    • Jane says:

      The people who are supposed to be regulating this kind of thing all got on a bus to go to the conference for Bus Regulators back in 1996, and they’ve never been heard from since!

      I was lucky in that we did have an alternate because so many students went from Ithaca to NYC that there were two smaller companies that did only that run, and they were more reliable.

Leave a Reply

