A Guest Review

Back on May 1st I posted a review of Losing My Religion.  One of my siblings, Deb, left this comment:

 Riddle of the day:

Q Why are churches like skin?

A Because they look fairly pretty in normal view, but look at them under a microscope and you see all kind of YE GADS! gross things, like skin mites and stuff. haha

But I supposed that is true of anything that involves humans.

Generous Orthodoxy(Brian MacClaren) is a very funny book which will make you laugh your you know what off.

 

Which prompted me to ask her if she would like to write a review of Generous Orthodoxy.  So without further ado…

I recently had one of the most hopeful reads I’ve had in a long time, a book titled Generous Orthodoxy
 
You could also title this book, “Sixteen Kinds of Partially Right in One Package”–or “The Rich Experience of Spiritual Mutts”–or “You Too Can Be a Kaleidescopic Christian”.  And I think the author, Brian McClaren, wouldn’t mind, as he shows a delightful ability to laugh at himself and “us,”  (Christians).
 
One of the most hilarious chapters near the beginning is entitled, “A Generous Refund,” in which he lists reasons not to read his book and says, “The words ‘store credit’ come to mind.”
 
He gives a bit of historical background as to how the, er… competition among different stripes of Christians to be “The Most Right” developed.  However, he doesn’t use huge amounts of space trying to find something bad to say about each stripe.  (For Brian’s personal stripe list, see bottom.*)  I was surprised to see him making an effort to find good in many different kinds of Christianity and religions, finding something to appreciate in each one. 
 
The easier thing would be to be satirical and critical, but he modeled something that was helpful to this sometimes disgruntled 41-year Christian.  I wouldn’t say my experience has been exactly romantic much of the time–sometimes very bleak and harsh–but I appreciated his wit and general “Hey, let’s not take ourselves so darn seriously all the time” attitude.
 
 
 
(Subtitle:  “Why I am a missional, evangelical, post-protestant, liberal/conservative, mystical/poetic, biblical, charismatic/contemplative, fundamentalist/calvinist, anabaptist/anglican, methodist, catholic, green, incarnational, depressed-yet-hopeful, emergent, unfinished Christian.”)
 
 
 
Jb here again…

Should I put a disclaimer?  I haven’t read the book.  My list of books to read is about a million miles long.  Although my religious views are probably quite different than my sister’s on various specifics, I wouldn’t hesitate to read this book which she so clearly enjoyed.  I had a sense that she would come up with something to amuse.  I’ve always thought she would make an excellent humor writer herself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Guest Review

  1. We covered this topic a little in my church Sunday school a few years back. It’s amazing that even in our Christian churches we can’t get along. It makes it tough for me to understand how we’re all going to co-exist in Heaven!

Leave a Reply

