Favorites Revisited…Dan In Real Life

Have You Ever Seen It?

This has become one of my favorite feel-good movies.

It’s a romantic comedy, but not in the same cheesy style that made me start hating romantic comedies back in the 80’s. 

There are many things I love about this movie.

Steve Carell.  He always plays a great leading man, because he represents normal nice guys…a little bit nerdy, but very endearing.

Juliette Binoche.  She is a very convincing crier.  Realistic crying always grabs me.  If it doesn’t seem real, you might as well throw the whole movie out.

You can see that the characters are really trying to live by an ethical standard of not hurting other people.

It’s a good family movie.  My sons have even got sucked into watching it when I am watching it. 

Yes, it’s just a little sappy.  But not too much.

I just love the moment where the father and the daughter understand eachother!

Favorite lines from the movie:

“You are a murderer of love!”  (I also love the couple of lines following that, but I won’t ruin it for you).

“This corn is like an angel”.  Improvisation by Steve Carell…you can see the actress next to him trying not to crack up.  Gets me every time!

I love when actors sing like this in a movie.  I only found the soundtrack version on youtube.  They are showing still shots from the movie with it.  I wish you could see the actual scene with it.  It’s very touching.  Be sure to listen to the end (there’s a little more after the clapping).

Who knew Steve Carell could sing like that?!  (Dane Cook is singing too, but Steve Carell steals the show).

Could I rave any more about this movie?

Yes.  Yes I can!  If you’re feeling a little down in the mouth…this movie will cheer you up.  I promise!  And it helps even more if you watch it several times in a row 😉 !

P.S.  I was not compensated in any way for reviewing this.  I almost feel like I should give up a little more cash for it because the first time I saw it, it was in the cheap theater for $1.75.  Then I went in search of it at garage sales and when I found it, it was $2.00.  I’ve more than got my money’s worth out of it!  (I almost lost my wedding ring in the process of purchasing the video, but that probably would have been a little too much to sacrifice.).

P.P.S.  Have I mentioned that I love this movie?  I love it.  I love it.  I love it.  I love it.  I love it.  I love it.  I love it!  (If you’ve seen the movie, you might recognize that bit of repetitiveness).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Favorites Revisited…Dan In Real Life

  1. I’ll have to put this on our list. I love happy movies.

  2. I’ll have to put this on our list. I love happy movies.

  3. Julie says:

    This movie is one of my faves!! The perfect feel good movie!!

  4. Jb says:

    I’d love to hear what some of your other faves are! I bet I’d like them too.

Leave a Reply

