Project Done!

Dirty feet

Dirty feet

PLUS

Dirty fingernails

Dirty fingernails

EQUALS

New Bedroom Floor

New Bedroom Floor

 

I did it all by myself as a surprise to DH when he comes home from his visit to his brother’s.  Hopefully this won’t be the time when he decides to read my blog!  And if older son is reading this…DON’T TELL 🙂 !

I’m pretty surprised that I got the motivation to actually do this!  It was frustrating to say the least!  Some of the edges of the interlocking pieces were broken when I opened the box.  Trying to cut a hole for the heating vent was a nightmare!  And it took me an eternity to find a jigsaw in the tool room, so I started out using a handsaw. 

My big advice if you ever choose to do a project of this nature:

  1. Get a jigsaw if you don’t have one.  You will want to bludgeon yourself with any other tool if you don’t use a jigsaw.
  2. Remove the whatchamacallits (brain fart)…oh yeah, baseboards.  I didn’t do that.  Don’t look at the edges of my finished project.  (Thank goodness for furniture to hide that!).
  3. Make sure you are cutting the correct end of the board.  The edges are NOT interchangeable.  I wasted a board to find this out.
  4. Handle the edges of the boards very carefully!  Once they break, it is very difficult, if not impossible, to use them.  Try to check them before you leave the store with them.

And now, purely for the sake of your amusement, I am including some of the very explicit instructions for installation that were included in the bundles of flooring.  (There were no written instructions.  They used the universal language of pictures…which I thoroughly enjoyed deciphering).

Floor Installation Instructions

Floor Installation Instructions

 

Floor Installation Instructions

Floor Installation Instructions

 

Floor Installation Instructions

Floor Installation Instructions

The next one is my favorite.

Floor Installation Instructions

Floor Installation Instructions

This entry was posted in Organization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Project Done!

  1. Holly says:

    Impressive!! Have fun with your surprise. You should take a photo of his face when he sees it.

    It’s funny; whenever I’m cooking or baking while my boyfriend is at work and I blog it right away, I always defer the posting until the next morning so I don’t risk ruining the surprise by him reading about it before he gets home. Surprises are fun!

    • Jb says:

      Thank you! I was pretty impressed with myself! I would’ve waited to post it but he won’t be home till Sunday…and I’m impatient like that 😉 . (Besides he doesn’t get on the computer much, so the risk is pretty low. He knows how to act surprised if he does find out 😉 ).

  2. forex robot says:

    Wow this is a great resource.. I’m enjoying it.. good article

  3. Purplume says:

    I’m impatient too. XD

    Sometimes I tell my husband something and he says, I know I read it on your blog.

    Thanks for your comment. THE COVE is a documentary and it won an award for best documentary this year. It is difficult to watch because it tells such a tragic tale. In Japan most theaters won’t show it because of how it portrays Japan.

    I am so impressed that you would put down a floor.
    When I was young I put down linoleum once. OMG, I still remember butchering the cuts around the radiator pipes.

    • Jb says:

      I’m thinking impatience can get things done! I asked my neighbor if she could send her husband over after work to move the giant TV for me, so I could get working on that floor. I couldn’t even wait that long. I moved it myself. He thought I was nuts.

  4. Katherine says:

    Holy COW!!!! You did that?!?! It is GORGEOUS! What an amazing surprise that will be. Shhhh I won’t tell!

    • Jb says:

      Well, I can’t claim credit for the gorgeousness…I didn’t go cut the wood myself or anything 😉 . But I can claim at least getting rid of the nasty berber carpet that has been in there WAY to long (which I put that in by myself also…impatience again).

  5. I’m amazed! I wouldn’t undertake to do that on my own. Way to go!

    • Jb says:

      I wasn’t really sure I would do that either, but I have been wondering lately if I rely to much on DH to do these things. Besides that, he has been really busy trying to prepare and plan the rest of summer for us.

  6. Jb says:

    Well, I can’t claim credit for the gorgeousness…I didn’t go cut the wood myself or anything 😉 . But I can claim at least getting rid of the nasty berber carpet that has been in there WAY to long (which I put that in by myself also…impatience again).

  7. madison says:

    Wow, better you than me. No wonder you are feeling pretty accomplished. That was no small undertaking. Good for you.

    • Jb says:

      Why thank you! If I keep getting all this encouragement I may just do the other two bedrooms. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
      Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  8. Vicki says:

    Woah. Maniac! That’s a good way to sleep well at night. What did you do with the rest of your free week??

    • Jb says:

      Cleaning up the mess and recovering (used muscles I’d forgotten about)! And of course, being delusional thinking I would like to do the other two bedrooms (don’t worry…I didn’t…no more surprises)!. Rearranging your store must’ve got me in the mood!

  9. Pingback: We have rejoined the age of technology! | Out of my Mind and Onto the Page

Leave a comment