Summer Skirt

I finished this skirt before summer ended!  Yah!

Close-up of the lace panel (sorry it’s a little blurry):

You knit the bottom part and then sew it to the top part of an old pair of jeans!  Cute, huh?  It’s great for summer because you can make it with cotton (or anything you like, I suppose…don’t consult me, I’m no expert).  It has just the right amount of mindless knitting combined with a little bit of interesting knitting.  I was a little worried that the knit portion looked too big before I sewed it on, but it all turned out just fine.  If you like this pattern and want to try it, Click Here.  (I guess I should tell you this is my sister’s pattern, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I’m biased.  Well maybe just a little.  But I wouldn’t post it if I didn’t like it!)

 

 

Also, it’s Monday again, so it’s time for Make It Happen Mondays. 

I’m going to try to sign five petitions each Monday. I hope you join me.

  • First click on this picture:
  • Next, sign one or more petitions of your choice.
  • Optional: If you have a blog, grab the button above and put it in a post or somewhere on your blog.
  • Come back here and add yourself to the Linky list (If you don’t blog, ignore this step).
  • I would love it if you would leave a comment here.
  • Also, please visit at least one of the other links from the Linky list to encourage them.
  • // <![CDATA[
     
    // ]]>

    This entry was posted in Knitting, Make it Happen Mondays, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    10 Responses to Summer Skirt

    1. Lovely! I’m always impressed by knitters. I tried once and only made knots.

    2. Purplume says:

      I totally love the skirt. I want to make one with some blue and white cotton yarn I have. I look better in a skirt with a little flair, as opposed to a pencil skirt, so I will create my own pattern. I didn’t see prices at your sister’s site which is excellent. It’s so inspiring.
      I put a post at Zahirah’s about the petitions. I need to try again after reading your suggestions.

    3. Jb says:

      Thanks for hopping around! I’m glad you liked my sister’s store! If you’re ever in the Boston area, you should go to one of her knit nights, ’cause it’s so much fun!
      Did you have trouble trying to do the Make It Happen Mondays thing? Is there something I need to change?

    4. Fabulous skirt! I’m so not a domestic. I can’t make anything. Except hay. And chocolate chip cookies. And frozen pizza. mmmmmm, pizza.

    5. Purplume says:

      Thanks Jb. I don’t expect to be in Boston, but I bet that would be fun.
      I did get discouraged with the petition thing. I wanted to find petitions re: dolphins. I did a search and went to about 5 sites and then my time was up and I hadn’t found a petition yet. I’ll try again.

      • Jb says:

        If you go to Change.org and select the Take Action tab, it will take you to another page. In the right side bar, near the top will be a Search Petitions buttons. Fill in “whales” and be sure to leave the “Browse by category” on “All”. That should take you right to a whole page of whaling petitions. Good Luck! Thanks for trying, too!

    6. Jb says:

      If you go to Change.org and select the Take Action tab, it will take you to another page. In the right side bar, near the top will be a Search Petitions buttons. Fill in “whales” and be sure to leave the “Browse by category” on “All”. That should take you right to a whole page of whaling petitions. Good Luck! Thanks for trying, too!

    7. forex robot says:

      found your site on del.icio.us today and really liked it.. i bookmarked it and will be back to check it out some more later

    Leave a Reply

    