The Age Old Question

What is the age old question?

Do earthworms ever get constipated? (Aha!  Now you remember!  That is the age old question!)

My niece and I were having a conversation this morning about spiders which somehow led to her asking me if I liked earthworms.  My response was that I didn’t really like any of those creepy crawly things, but that they all have their place in the world and they all have jobs that they do.  And an earthworm’s job is to make dirt.  Her response to that was, “yeah, that would be pretty bad if earthworms got constipated”.

So, do they?

I’m sure somebody must’ve researched that topic before.

Please get back to us when you’ve done your research and found out for us.  I’m counting on you.  (I’d do it, but I’m not on my own computer, and I’m not used to the set-up, so it would take me way longer than it will take you 😉 ).

Meanwhile, I’ll work on a better excuse why I can’t investigate right now.

 

P.S.  If you have time, be sure to visit my niece’s blog where she answers another very important question:  how the pilgrims caught their first turkey.  Click HERE !

This entry was posted in Just thinking, Whimsicles. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Age Old Question

  1. I am feverishly trying to find out…… with no luck in sight 😀

  2. Texasholly says:

    I am hoping that their digestive system is so simple that constipation would be too complicated…does that make sense??? hahaha.

  3. Actually…… after an amount of intense research……LOL….earthworms have an extensive digestive system which also consists of a “gizzard” to grind up the dirt (I have to pause LMAO) after which they are able to excrete the dirt easily. ref: Buzzle.com ” Earthworms Digestive System”

    However, (I can’t stop laughing) my theory would be in case of “constipation” the earthworm would either die or “explode”! 😦

  4. Actually…… after an amount of intense research……LOL….earthworms have an extensive digestive system which also consists of a “gizzard” to grind up the dirt (I have to pause LMAO) after which they are able to excrete the dirt easily. ref: Buzzle.com ” Earthworms Digestive System”

    However, (I can’t stop laughing) my theory would be in case of “constipation” the earthworm would either die or “explode”! 😦

Leave a Reply

