Dad in Dungarees

Just a little pre-Father’s Day picture.   This is a picture of my dad this morning:

 And another:

I don’t ever remember seeing my dad in jeans (“dungarees” as his mother likes to say).  So, it was a fun surprise to see him in them today.  He’s funny, though, ’cause he was all like casual about it.  Like he was quietly waiting to see if I’d notice.  I’m pretty sure if I’d done what he has, I’d be hollerin’ “WOO-HOO! Check me out!”

What did he do?

He lost over 100 pounds, that’s what!

He told me he used to weigh 351 pounds and now he weighs 226.

This is a “before” picture: 

Hopefully, he’s going to do a guest post for me about this soon.  He can fill you in on the whole story. 

But meanwhile I’d love to mention a couple of things that he has done recently…

 

This winter he got us all outside to build a snowman.

AND…

He went sledding!

I think that’s a great way to celebrate!

 

He told me a couple of weeks ago that he’s running a little bit when he goes out for his walk!

I don’t think that’s a great way to celebrate ;), but to each his own.

 

My mom wanted to add that before he lost all that weight, they tried to have a garden but that it got overrun with weeds because he just couldn’t keep up.

Did you notice that garden behind him in the first two pictures?

All his doing!

 

Mom also said that she did not have to shovel AT ALL this winter.  He did it lickety-split!

 

My dad likes to say he lost a small person 🙂 .

Maybe he can find him at the Weight Watchers meeting 😉 .

 

 

P.S.  My mom needs to do some modeling too.  She’s also lost a phenomenal amount of weight!

P.P.S. I know I  sorta promised a shorter post for today.  I tried.  But hey, sometimes life happens.  Besides, it’s not that long, is it?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dad in Dungarees

  1. Wonderful Feel Good Friday post. My brother lost 171 pounds the past 2 years and he really did lost another person. The one that was grumpy, now he is the sweet loving person he use to be. Tell your Dad how proud we all are of him.

    • Jb says:

      Hopefully he’ll check out the comments section.

      Weight loss does seem to make a person more engaged in life, doesn’t it? Thanks for your comment!

  2. Jb says:

    Hopefully he’ll check out the comments section.

    Weight loss does seem to make a person more engaged in life, doesn’t it? Thanks for your comment!

  3. Way to go dad! And I love that you call jeans “dungarees”. We like funny names for things around here.

    • Jb says:

      Straight from my Gram’s mouth. How about this one? Oleo. I’m gonna let people look that up if they’ve never heard it…that’ll be fun for them 😉 .

  4. Way to go dad! And I love that you call jeans “dungarees”. We like funny names for things around here.

  5. Betsy says:

    JB, That’s great! I’m sure he’s much healthier and will be around a lot longer. His garden is gorgeous! Where do your parents live?

    • Jb says:

      They live an 8-minute walk from my house. It makes for some nice walks together around the neighborhood.
      (I think I might be gettin’ me some spinach from that garden today!)

  6. Purplume says:

    Congratulations to your father. That is a major accomplishment. He looks terrific.

    I am old enough to know oleo and dungarees. I had forgotten about that word dungarees. It’s a good one.

    • Jb says:

      I wish I could remember some more of the words she uses that are fun. I’ll have to put together a post some day with all of the amusing things she says to me.

  7. Jb says:

    I wish I could remember some more of the words she uses that are fun. I’ll have to put together a post some day with all of the amusing things she says to me.

  8. liz says:

    Oh, wow! Great for him!! You all should be proud!

    • Jb says:

      I should ask him what was the thing that finally did the trick, because we have worried for a long time about his weight and his health. This is a big deal! It’s great that him and my mom have been going to Weight Watchers together. I think it’s much easier when everyone in the household is on board together.

Leave a Reply

