One. More. Stupid. Plan.

Okay.  Here’s my plan:

I’m going to try to eat a serving of green vegetables by 10:30 a.m. everyday.

I’m going to try to eat a tomato everyday.

I’m going to try to eat homemade yogurt everyday.

If I want to eat something before bed, I’m going to eat fruit.

That’s it.  That’s the whole plan.  What do you think?

I’ve managed to do this quite a few times now, so I’m thinking it’s not a horrible plan.  At least I’m not trying to take away things.  Well, maybe a little, at night.  I’m a total cereal addict, especially at night.  And I think I’ve lured my poor unsuspecting family into that trap, based on the fact that a half gallon of milk disappears in two days.  Cereal is not the worst thing, I suppose.  But if you’re addicted, it becomes downright dangerous!

I was perusing through one of Christina Pirello’s books (she’s one of the chefs on PBS’ Create channel), and she was talking about eating greens for breakfast.  Interesting idea.  I love spinach with eggs, so that’s an easy one on those days, but I don’t eat eggs every day (not that I wouldn’t love to).  It’s a little tougher on cereal 😉 .  I’m kidding, of course.  You can’t have spinach on cereal!  Maybe broccoli, but not spinach!  So anyway, I thought I would probably be able to down something green by 10:30.  I’m pretty darn happy with myself when I accomplish that!  Feel all healthy-n-stuff.  Even if I don’t have anything else healthy all day, I can still claim that one glorious moment of “I’m so healthy”! 

Why the homemade yogurt?  Acidophalus.  No sugar when I make it.  Organic milk.  Probably the only way I could do better with a dairy product would be to get raw milk.  I can’t fit a cow into the back yard.  Hmm…but maybe a goat!!!  That would take care of my  lawn mowing issues!  Wait!  What about alpaca?  Do they eat grass and make milk?  ‘Cause then I could spin up some yarn too!  Raising alpacas is getting to be quite the fad now, ya know.  But I digress.  No, wait, not really…alpaca yogurt!

I’m not sure how I came up with the tomato.  It just seemed like a good idea.  Lots of vitamin C, right.  Just cut it up, throw some salt and oregano on it.  Or fresh basil.  Yum, yum.  Don’t mind if I do! 

So, there ya have it.  That’s all I got to say ’bout that.

(Stay tuned for the exercise idea that I’m going to implement if I can ever get my printer to run again…we used to run together, back in the day when I was fit.  I guess it lost it’s motivation when I stopped running).  What did you just call me?  A dork?  Well, excuuuuuuuuuse me for trying to introduce a little clean humor into your day 😉 !

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to One. More. Stupid. Plan.

  1. Something green in the morning? ACK! I have such a hard with vegies as it is, but for breakfast? However, I do wish you the best with your plan and hope it works.

    • Jb says:

      That’s why I set a 10:30 time to it. Since I get up at around 6:00 during the school year, 10:30 could almost be considered lunch time 😉 !
      Thanks for stopping by! Love the name of your blog! Not sure what that name’s all about, but I plan to find out! And I still love it, anyway!

  2. Something green in the morning? ACK! I have such a hard with vegies as it is, but for breakfast? However, I do wish you the best with your plan and hope it works.

  3. time! I meant to say I have such a hard TIME. stupid fingers.

  4. time! I meant to say I have such a hard TIME. stupid fingers.

  5. Sounds like a plan. My latest is no eating after dinner. I’ve been having 1000 calorie giant muffins from Costco when I’m not even hungry. Not smart.

    I don’t think I could work a green into breakfast. Seems a little strange, but it’s probably great for you.

  6. liz says:

    I think that’s a hefty plan! I’d only do maybe half of that if that was me. Good luck!

    • Jb says:

      The hard one is the after dinner thing. Eating a fruit was a compromise between eating too much (probably of cereal) and eating nothing, which I found to be absolutely impossible and just torture.

  7. Secret Mommy says:

    This is an inspiring list. I’m just trying to work ANY additional fruits and veggies into our diets. I think we eat more than many people, but fewer than I’d like. Summertime really is the best time for these goals, isn’t it? When the tomatoes are oh so fresh and delicious and the spinach comes right in from the garden begging to be eaten. Yummers!

    • Jb says:

      I think adding something in to a diet is a lot easier than taking things away. That’s the theory I’m basing this little plan on.

  8. Johnlyn says:

    I had green beans sauteed in bacon grease for breakfast. YUMMY!

  9. Holly says:

    Good luck!

    I have a friend that adds chard or spinach to fruit smoothies in the morning, and says she can’t really tell the difference in flavor. You might try it that way.

    As for the tomato, one a day is great for any men in the family too, due to the lycopene.

    Some doctors recommend NOT having fruit in the evening/nighttime/after 6 p.m. so pay attention to your digestion, and if you don’t feel well after eating the fruit, maybe have your yogurt in your evening snack instead of fruit.

    • Jb says:

      I hadn’t heard about the not eating fruit at night! I have heard from some groups that you shouldn’t mix fruits and vegetables in the same meal. Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll keep it in mind if I start having an issue.

  10. Purplume says:

    I like your plan. Spinach with eggs sounds wonderful. In fact lost of veggies in an omelet, like peppers, mushrooms and some green ones too. I’m hungry now.
    I agree, I think adding things to the diet feels a lot more agreeable than taking away. I’ve often thought if I have plenty of vegetables, I can’t go too far wrong. It lead me to make green beans for breakfast sometimes and they were good. I must get back to that.
    I’ve been drying beet greens to take the powder with me when I travel and add it to soups for some greens. I think it would probably work to add some to muffins or energy bar recipes.
    I think it was Dr. Oz on Oprah who said there is something very good for us in tomatoes and to have some every day.
    good plan. And excellent sense of humor.

    • Jb says:

      Yum…my favorite meal is a goat cheese and asparagus omelet with fresh, chopped and salted tomatoes on top.

      What are you talking about?! I don’t have any sense of humor 😉

  11. Jb says:

    Yum…my favorite meal is a goat cheese and asparagus omelet with fresh, chopped and salted tomatoes on top.

    What are you talking about?! I don’t have any sense of humor 😉

  12. Purplume says:

    I just had an omelet of an egg, two large chard leaves chopped, shiitagki mushrooms, and goat cheese. It was really good and filling.

Leave a Reply

