Planning a Pizza Blast

If you ask my kids…Pizza.  Always Pizza.  Well, to celebrate the end of the school year, I’m going to try to max them out on Pizza.  A week’s worth.  All different kinds.  Think I can do it?  It’ll be a challenge for sure!

Today I made four pizza crusts.  I wanted to make more but there isn’t enough room in the freezer, so I’m going to have to become re-motivated at some point.

I think I’ll start on Monday.  That is the last day of classes.  But they have random testing until the Tuesday after that.  I figure, on that Tuesday evening we can take the kids to Pizza Hut to have their favorite: extra cheese, stuffed crust, makes-me-wanna-gag, globs of nastiness pizza.  DH and I usually have to get another pizza because we (maybe just “I”) can’t handle the gaggy pizza.  Such a lovely treat for a year of hard work!

Even though it might be fun to make them sick of pizza…I’m sure I would keel over dead by the end of a week of eating only cheese pizza, so I’ve been thinking about some variations.  I wonder how many I’ll actually follow through with.

Here are some of my thoughts to start with:

  • Garlic Pizza
  • Breakfast Pizza
  • Dessert Pizza
  • Cabbage Pizza
  • Mexican Pizza
  • Veg. Pepperoni Pizza
  • “Sausage” Pizza

Surfing the internet, here are a few more ideas I found:

  • PB&J Pizza
  • Grape and Gargonzola Pizza
  • Fruit Pizza
  • Chocolate Pizza
  • Carmelized Onion and Balsamic glaze
  • Bac’n, cheddar cheese, mashed potatoes & scallions
  • Sun-dried tomatoes, goat cheese, spinach, black olives

As I contemplated the numerous choices,  a few other ideas popped into my head:

  • Alfredo and Spinach
  • Strawberry Shortcake Pizza
  • Fried Banana and Chocolate Pizza or Banana Split
  • “Ham” and Pineapple’
  • Seven Layer Dip Pizza

There were a bazillion more ideas on the internet.  Some of them pretty crazy.  So, if you ever get bored with the never-changing, ho-hum, regular pizzas, just go looking.  Even if you don’t try any of them, it’s good amusement to see what kind of weird things people will eat out there.

Wish me luck!  I’m going to need a vacation after this challenge!  And it’s okay if anybody wants to remind the kids that they better appreciate this 😉 .  But wait till they’ve figured out what’s going on.  I don’t plan on telling them.  When they ask me what’s for dinner…that’s when they’ll get their answer.  (Of course, snoopy older boy saw me being suspicious at the computer so he may actually come read this post.  Well, then, I guess his diligence will be rewarded with knowing the surprise.  It’s no cheese off my pizza!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Planning a Pizza Blast

  1. Secret Mommy says:

    I think a chicken spinach alfredo pizza sounds super yummy delicious! In fact, the next time I make a homemade pizza I might just have to do it!!!! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear how the kids like your week o’ pizza! 🙂 (Side note, I taught my two year old to say, “Mama, mia, that’s a pizza!” in a a crazy, far-fetched Italian accent. It’s AWESOME!) 🙂

  2. I don’t think we’d get sick of pizza after only a week. It will be interesting to see how your crew does!

    • Jb says:

      Even if that’s all you had 😉 ? I wish I could pull that off!
      I saw this idea as a way to deal with food addiction in a book once!

  3. Laura says:

    OK so I am sitting here and I read this and I gasp! Emily is here too and I just told her what you are going to do and now we are stealing your idea!

    WHAT A FUN IDEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I can’t wait to do it. I have to do menus tomorrow and guess what my theme will be?!

    A super HUGE Thank You, JB!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love doing theme weeks with food.

  4. angie says:

    wow your kids sound a lot like mine with their love of pizza. What a great line up of pizzas you have came up with

    • Jb says:

      I don’t think my kids will ever be vegan with their crazy love of cheese pizza.
      I’m not sure how many of those I actually made, but I’m going to try to give an update after the last one is made tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

