Hmmm…

My husband is so excited by this that he keeps mentioning it.  It’s like the billionth tenth time he’s mentioned it since it happened last Thursday evening!  Are you curious?  I thought about making you guess, but I know what kind of sickos how creative some of ya are, so

The van passed inspection!

Here is the main reason we are both so surprised by this:

Can you see what’s wrong with this picture?  (Hint: see the wire?)  Give up?  I’ll just tell ya then.  There’s not supposed to be a wire to hold the emergency brake up.  DH put it there so the light would stop coming on, because the pedal doesn’t stay up.  Did they change the rules about functioning emergency brakes? 

Here’s the real kicker…see that thing just to the right of the wire (at the top)?  That’s where they plug in some doo-dad that they use for inspection…so there’s NO way that  the mechanic could have missed that.

This doesn’t have much to do with the inspection,

 but if I were inspecting this vehicle and saw this, I might wonder how rusted out the underside of the car was…but I guess that’s just me.  I wish you could see the picture better because that black panel is about to fall off.

The person who will probably find this post most interesting is no one my brother…because he’s the one who sold it to us…I think it was like five years ago (I’d go look it up for you, but I don’t want to, so I guess you’ll just have to live with the estimate).  Back when we bought it off him, he was quite worried that it was not even going to make it the 13 hour(?) drive home.  So, we love to astonish him with the fact that it’s still alive and kickin’!

I’m thinkin’ we might be feelin’ a challenge in the air!  How long can we keep that sucker running?  Maybe I should start a pool!  (Of course, I suppose I would have to mention how long we’ve made our previous vehicles stick it out…but that would take some memory or research…so, again…too bad for you).

P.S.  Did I mention the back tires are bald (by DH’s report)?

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Just thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hmmm…

  1. Laura says:

    My dad usually keeps cars until they are irreparable!!! It is still cheaper than a car payment.

    I love the wire, but don’t drive me anywhere, okay 🙂

  2. Secret Mommy says:

    Haha! I thought my last car was in bad shape, but I think you’ve got me beat. 🙂

    • Jb says:

      Unfortunately for me, I cannot claim credit for how long these cars last. That award goes to the spouse. I’m more along the lines of “Noise? What noise?”. Of course, that could be because the cars have always been so loud, how would I ever know the difference?

  3. Molly says:

    Wow. I wonder how long that inspector will continue to be in that job. So what’s the current guess as to how long you can go?

    • Jb says:

      Maybe that can be tonight’s dinner conversation. We’re probably wishing at least till next inspection. I don’t even know if there are other major problems. I know the air conditioner doesn’t work and the heater clicks for a couple minutes after it’s turned on. Other than that, I don’t know much. It stops when you push the brake and it starts when you push the gas. (Oh, and it likes to scare the living sh** out of me once in a while, by randomly turning on the windshield wipers!)

  4. Purplume says:

    Amazing. You are the second post in a day about keeping cars going a long time. Kudos to you. I’m a chicken. I’ve had enough of broken down cars for this lifetime.

    • Jb says:

      You mean you don’t love the uncertainty of taking a long drive in the middle of nowhere on a cold rainy night wondering if the car’s going to get you to a safe destination??? Why, that’s just crazy talk 😉 !

  5. Further evidence that the inspection is just a money maker and doesn’t really serve any other purpose!

  6. Jb says:

    Sounds like you might need to do some soapboxing on that issue!

Leave a Reply

