This makes me MAD!

Watch out! I’m actually expressing an opinion today! 

Today’s display on a local church sign:

“It’s hell without Jesus”. 

My reaction:

“Really???!!! This is how you want to portray your religion to people? This is how you want to draw people into your church? By creating fear?” 

This kind of thing just irritates “the hell” out of me.  It seems to me that when someone is using fear to bring people into their church, that is about the equivalent of politicians who use fear-mongering to control people. What is being gained by this approach?  And who are the ones gaining from it?  Frankly, it puts up a big flag when I see something of this nature…it says to me that someone is more interested in the business of religion than they actually are in helping promote spiritual growth of the individuals who are their target audience.  If they truly are interested in “helping” people, than why is it that they are not trying to show the good things about their religion.  It is a huge shame when people “believe” because of fear. Isn’t religion supposed to bring you peace in your heart?

That’s my opinion and I’m stickin’ to it!  Grrrrr! (But I’m interested in comments…so go for it!)

Shall we discuss people who want you to believe that we’re all born sinners? Cause I’ve got some opinions on THAT too!  Just look into the eyes of a newborn and then try to convince me of that, k?

This seems like an appropriate spot to mention this: Dina over at Family Sanity Reviews did a review recently on a film called “Oh My God”.  I thought she did an excellent job reviewing it and I got her permission to link to the post from this site.  But just so you know, just because I mentioned her on this site doesn’t imply that she agrees with my opinions above.  I don’t know if she does or doesn’t agree.  You’ll have to ask her if you want to know about that.  Anyway, here’s the link: http://www.familysanityreviews.com/2010/05/oh-my-god-movie-review.html  I personally can’t wait to see this film!

This entry was posted in Just thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to This makes me MAD!

  1. Mirella says:

    Hello JB! What a wonderful comment you left on my blog! It’s that kind of enthusiasm that encourages me and makes it all worthwhile. I’m happy to discover your blog too. I love the above post. I feel exactly the same way. One’s religion and faith are private and should be shared with joy and in positive expressions. This kind of “in-your-face’ stuff really puts me off too.

    I’m going to enjoy following your blog. Lots of interesting topics!

    Take care and I’m so glad to have made your acquaintance.

    Mirella

  2. admin says:

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and giving my day a little boost!

  3. Secret Mommy says:

    I’m with you on this one, too. I feel that religion should be based on positive notions and feelings rather than negative ones. Or at least the MARKETING 😉 of one’s religion should be based on the positive! 🙂

    • admin says:

      Seriously. Isn’t the fear-based approach outdated YET? You’d think those “marketers” 😉 might be ready to try something different.

  4. Secret Mommy says:

    I’m with you on this one, too. I feel that religion should be based on positive notions and feelings rather than negative ones. Or at least the MARKETING 😉 of one’s religion should be based on the positive! 🙂

    • admin says:

      Seriously. Isn’t the fear-based approach outdated YET? You’d think those “marketers” 😉 might be ready to try something different.

  5. Johnlyn says:

    Jb,

    I cannot understand why some churches put up signs like that. As a follower of Christ myself, it doesn’t make me want to go to that church either.

    I don’t usually talk politics or religion, but I feel like I need to post a comment here (you are always so nice to leave comments!) As I was reading my Bible this morning, it was talking about having child like faith. You know that song, Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so? Years ago, when I didn’t believe that Jesus loved me, I was NOT a nice person to be around.

    The person I was back then caused a LOT of damage in my marriage (it was ALL about me). Oh how embarassing I was to go out to eat with if the service wasn’t perfect. I wasn’t a nice person. I would hear and see those freaky \Christians\ and I just couldn’t understand what they were talking about. My response to charitable giving was \My own check book is the best charity I know.\

    Unfortunately, I acted like this and then went to church on Sundays. I was a Sunday Christian. I certainly didn’t act like Christ. Fast forward to today, after one pastor made a HUGE impact on my life. I read my Bible daily and unfortunately, fail daily as well. But not near as often as I used to. I have the child like faith. I believe the only path to heaven is through Jesus Christ, but I have NO idea exactly how it works. I don’t know that I care how it works. I like the person I’ve become since I started understanding that I didn’t have to be perfect and that God would still love me.

    I don’t walk around trying to prove to people that I’m a Christian. I’d rather that people look at my actions and see Christ in me. In a nutshell, I am not embarassing to go out to eat with anymore, my marriage is so much stronger and we tithe to our church. My life is better with Christ in it than it was when I was doing it on my own.

    • admin says:

      I usually try to refrain from too much bashing of religion in my posts or blogs, but that’s not because I don’t have any of those kinds of opinions. It’s because I think people should be able to believe what they want to believe, as long as they are not shoving it down other people’s throats. I have plenty of negative views of religion, but in the end, I think that if someone’s religion provides them comfort, than that is a good thing as long as (again) they are respectful of other’s perspectives.

  6. There’s essentially nothing they could write on those boards that I would be happy about. I loved that my church didn’t have a message sign and then a couple of years back they got one and started with the dippy sayings. There are books full of dippy church sign sayings. Stupid puns and the like. I could do without it.

    It is a central point of Christianity though that you cannot attain heaven without knowing Jesus. It just comes off weird on a sign.

    Also, I did write that post last week, but I’m writing this comment today!

    • admin says:

      Maybe they should just have a sign that says “You are invited to come visit our church”. Straight to the point, right? I know a couple of pastors out there (ahem) who shall not be named, who I think would be interested in commenting about the signs. I guess I’ll have to give them a little nudge to come visit!

  7. Johnlyn says:

    I totally agree Jb.

    I just remembered that our church has a sign as you leave the parking lot of the church. It says “Church begins now.”

    It’s a handpainted sign on an old piece of wood.

    I always wondered if someone was supposed to put that up or not. I love it! Church should be the way you treat people, not your Sunday act.

    • admin says:

      Probably more people would want to come to church if they saw people acting better outside of the church! (And in some cases INside the church too!)

  8. Dan says:

    Mom! Dad’s posting on JB’s blog again!

Leave a Reply

