Menu (yawn)

It occured to me that I never did get around to posting that last menu, where I featured the Gothic Homemaker.  I think her blog originally was not vegetarian, but now she works hard to convert recipes to be vegan and concocts many of her own delicious meals. 

I know, menus are boring.  But sometimes they can be helpful.  And you’re getting a bonus with this one, because this chef has some pretty tasty recipes, some good tips, and knows how to use her spices.  So go check out her site:  

http://thegothichomemaker.blogspot.com/

 

Here’s my menu (Gothic Homemaker recipes are linked):

Breakfasts:

  • Egg Sandwiches, homemade juice
  • Pancakes, Fruit topping
  • Crockpot oatmeal, smoothies
  • Peach cobbler
  • Buttermilk Bran Muffins (Mollie Katzen), homemade juice
  • Grilled homemade bread, hot chocolate (didn’t get to this)
  • Yogurt(homemade) with grape nuts, berries and bananas

Lunches (very loosely followed):

  • Stuffed sandwiches
  • PB sandwiches
  • Cheese sandwiches
  • Pasta
  • Leftovers
  • And choice of veggies:  carrots, celery, cucumbers, salad, broccoli

Dinners:

Probably my favorite of the new recipes was the Pulled “Pork”.  It used Hearts of Palm which I have never eaten before. I was kind of blown away that it could mimic pulled pork so well.  I also really liked the tostadas…very filling.  All of the recipes went over better than I would have suspected (because I have too many picky eaters in the crowd).  I was originally attracted to Confessions of a Gothic Homemaker because I thought maybe she would have some insight on how the teens might like to eat.  I’m glad I checked out her site.  It was worth the trip.

I should also mention the recipe we had last week: http://thegothichomemaker.blogspot.com/2010/04/pasta-shells-with-broccoli-rabe-and.html. Younger son and I liked this pretty well.  The other two family members aren’t into spicy stuff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Menu (yawn)

  1. Forget menu planning, this made me so hungry I have to go have a snack!

    Pulled pork – yummy!

  2. Vicki says:

    Little one says those chick-pea cutlets are the BEST THING EVER. Quite tasty indeed!

    • admin says:

      I thought they were a little easier than the fake chick’n recipe we’ve been using. What did you think?

Leave a Reply

