Feel Good Friday

I’m linking up with The Girl Next Door for Feel Good Friday. 

Join Me For...

Just thought I’d post a poem I found years ago in an old poetry book at the library.  The book is called “It’s a Woman’s World: A Century of Women’s Voices in Poetry”, edited by Neil Philip.  I’m not normally a big poetry fan, but I really liked this one.  Hope you enjoy it too!  And have a happy Friday!

 

WOMEN LAUGHING

Gurgles, genderless,

Inside the incurious womb.

 

Random soliloquies of babies

Tickled by everything.

 

Undomesticated shrieks

Of small girls. Mother prophesies

You’ll be crying in a minute

 

Adolescents wearing giggles

Like chain-mail, against embarassment,

Giggles formal in shape as

Butterpats, or dropped stitches.

 

Young women anxious to please,

Laughing eagerly before the punchline

(Being too naive to know which it is).

 

Wives gleaming sleekly in public at

Husbandly jokes, masking

All trace of old acquaintance.

 

Mums obliging with rhetorical

Guffaws at the children’s riddles

That bored their parents.

 

Old women, unmanned, free

Of children, embarassment, desire to please,

Hooting grossly, without explanation.

by 

U.A. Fanthorpe

 

P.S.   I hope I’m not breaking any copyright laws by posting this poem.

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Feel Good Friday

  1. dina says:

    i saw your comment on my blog, i would be thrilled if you linked to it! I read the losing my religion review. my husband’s grandpa was the minister of a baptist church….very political and he was forcedout. my husband was so turned off he only steps foot in churchwhen there is afuneral.

  2. Laura says:

    Wow that was really beautiful!!! Loved the disclaimer 🙂

    • admin says:

      Paranoia. That’s what the disclaimers are all about. At least I hope it’s only paranoia…it might be something else more serious 😉

  3. Betsy says:

    Great poem! I post poems and I think it’s ok as long as you reference the writer and don’t take credit.

    Happy Friday and thanks for visiting zen-mama.com today!

    • admin says:

      That’s good to know. Thanks for the info…how much more do you know about that kind of stuff, cause I get nervous posting pretty much anything!

  4. Obligatory gaffaws! Love that because it’s so true!

Leave a Reply

