Is that funny or not?

My husband is into fixing bikes.  He likes to help anyone and everyone get their bikes up and running, especially the neighborhood kids.  A few weeks ago he was walking down the street and saw a kid with a broken pedal on his bike.  He told the kid he probably could find him another pedal.  A few days later he had the pedal and stopped when he saw the kid out on his lawn.  The whole family seemed to be trying to get out the door to church, so it was a little awkward that my husband was taking the time to put this pedal on the kids bike.  Did I mention that these people had not met my husband?  Well, it all went fine, but it became a topic of conversation when me, younger son, and DH were in the car together later.  I said, “you’re lucky they didn’t think you were some kind of pedophile”, to which younger son said “don’t you mean ‘pedalphile’?”

I felt obligated to say “that’s not really funny”.  But the effect of me saying that might have been counteracted by the fact that I laughed first.  (Oops?)

This entry was posted in Just thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Is that funny or not?

  1. liz says:

    I never would have figured there would be a clever way to make a pun out of the word pedaphile, but your son figured one out!

    • admin says:

      Well, it was just kind of screaming for a pun…somebody had to pick up the slack, I guess. Better him than me…probably wouldn’t have been appropriate for me to say that in front of him…not that I’d have the brains to come up with it.

  2. Kerri says:

    That is actually pretty funny…considering the word and all. Your son is pretty witty….I don’t think I would have come close to something as zing-y….

  3. Word play is always funny even when slightly inappropriate!

    • admin says:

      Thanks for the reassurance. It was funny! (And it was slightly inappropriate…but I did my mom duty by pointing out that it was not quite right…and I did the other mom duty of laughing with my kid).

  4. Laura says:

    Oh my gosh, that is REALLY funny! I wonder what they did think!

    • admin says:

      Well, if they thought he was a pedophile, we’ve seen no evidence of it…no police at the door or anything. I guess they just decided he was only a pedalphile.

  5. Deb says:

    Great pun younger son! LOL

  6. Deb says:

    Great pun younger son! LOL

  7. Dan says:

    Get him a t-shirt for Christmas “I’m a registered pedalphile!”

  8. Dan says:

    Even better:

    Front: I’m not a registered Pedalphile
    Back: But I want to be!

    • admin says:

      Stop yer damn scheming! I better not find this under our Christmas tree! Why I oughtta! The nerve 😉 !

  9. Dan says:

    Even better:

    Front: I’m not a registered Pedalphile
    Back: But I want to be!

    • admin says:

      Stop yer damn scheming! I better not find this under our Christmas tree! Why I oughtta! The nerve 😉 !

Leave a Reply

