Finished crochet project

Again…it always takes me forever to get around to a project…then usually a few tries to get it started correctly.  I racked my brains last year for a gift I could make that would not be wintery for my MIL’s birthday.  I came up with placemats (you got something better? hmm…that’s what I thought!)  I bought the yarn and I tried several patterns…yuck, yuck, and yuck!  And they took way more yarn than I had anticipated.  So when I finally came up with a pattern I like (2 weeks ago), I only had enough yarn to make three.  Well, that just seemed kind of stupid.  So I made two placemats, and then came up with the brilliant idea of making a clothesline bowl out of the rest of the yarn!  Add a few buttons and voila.  Pretty cute.  But I won’t be doing placemats again, unless somebody actually loves them so much that it is requested…blech and boring and blech.

So here’s the pics of the finished items:

 

I’m pretty set on the idea of giving her the bowl first and seperately and giving her the impression that it is a pill box hat.  (That is as long as someone doesn’t ruin the joke.  She doesn’t read my blog, so someone would have to tell her).  Can’t wait to see her reaction.  It’ll be payback for the jinx! ( https://outofmymindontothepage.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/img_36272.jpg2010/04/26/back-from-a-weekend-away/)

 

Pillbox hat 😉

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Finished crochet project

  1. Laura says:

    That is really a great skill to have. THey are very pretty!

    • admin says:

      Thank you. Sometimes people ask me how to teach them how to crochet…that would be tough because I just pull loops through other loops…I have no clue what anything is called or how to follow a pattern! It’s really just a crapshoot for me!

  2. lt says:

    Love the bowl… you clever girl!! awesome! who got bit? I missed that part!
    love your blog

  3. Secret Mommy says:

    Very cute placemats and bowl! I so wish I’d paid more attention when my Nana tried to teach me to crochet. And I LOVE the joke idea!

    • admin says:

      It’s never too late! It’s great to have something like this to do during all the waiting around time you might do as a mom…waiting at the doctor’s or waiting to pick kids up from school, etc.

  4. This is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free. I enjoy seeing websites that understand the value of providing a prime resource for free. I truly loved reading your post. Thanks!

  5. admin says:

    Thank you. Sometimes people ask me how to teach them how to crochet…that would be tough because I just pull loops through other loops…I have no clue what anything is called or how to follow a pattern! It’s really just a crapshoot for me!

  6. admin says:

    OMG! I’m so happy to hear from you! I’ve missed you!
    Older boy got bit…crazy madness!

Leave a Reply

