We went to see Percy Jackson and the Olympians the other night.  I didn’t like it.  There were two things that really annoyed me.  The first thing was that they tried to set us up to believe that the teenage boy and his mother had a really loving relationship, but then they pull the rug out from under you with bad acting.  Neither the mother or the kid even shed a tear when it was obvious that they were going to be permanently separated.  They barely acted like they were bothered by it!  Now, I’m no fool.  I know that teenage boys are probably not going to show much affection for their mothers in public, but am I stupid for believing that he would  be upset at his mother’s death?!

The second thing that I really hated about this movie was that there is a scene where a teenage girl is sword-fighting and defeating the teenage boy (and everyone else).  But then, the tables are turned and the teenage boy defeats her.  That’s not the bothersome issue here.  It was obviously going to go that way, because he is the main character of the story.  It was the reaction that the girl had when he defeated her.  It was all heaving breasts and “oh, secretly I want you to be in power of me”.  (She didn’t say that.  That was the look she had on her face).  Now, I might expect this kind of stupidity from an adult film, but to project this kind sexual innuendo in a movie targeted to teens and pre-teens…SICKENING!  What the hell kind of image are we trying to convey to teen boys about how to treat teen girls?!

That’s my opinion, and I’m stickin’ to it!

This entry was posted in Books and Movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Betsy says:

    Well, I didn’t see the movie so I can’t comment on that. However my non reading son did! And now he is on the last Percy Jackson series books. He read them like lightening. I’m reading them with him. (They’re not Harry Potter but good) He’s also gotten very much into Greek Mythology. So while I might agree about the movie, had I seen it….I’m thrilled that my 13 year old can’t stop reading!!

    By the way…thanks for the follow and the nice comments on familysanityreview.com!!

    • admin says:

      Thank you! I’m honored that The Zen Mama visited my blog!
      I read through the whole Harry Potter series with my kids, so it has a bit of a special place in my heart. That makes for tough competition for any other series 😉

Leave a Reply

