Collections

I used to collect a couple of things.  I don’t think it was on purpose.  When you tell people that you like something, THEY are the ones who start your collection for you, because then they start seeing the “perfect” gift for you.  It’s all fine, but I probably wouldn’t be much of a collector if I wasn’t “duh” enough to tell people what I like.  After all, I hate dusting.  So, I’m taking a risk by talking about this teeny tiny collection that I’ve accidentally started, but I guess I never learn.

I’ve picked up 4 really odd books/booklets at used book sales or garage sales.  I didn’t buy them because the topic is of any interest to me.  I bought them because they just struck me as funny.  Tickled my fancy 😉 (When’s the last time you heard that phrase?).  I’m going to post pictures just for you, ’cause maybe you’ll find them amusing too.

This first one I put a measuring stick next to so you could see how little the book is. (Yes, I do have a little thing for little books).  You probably can’t tell from the picture but the binding of this book is on the right side…this is the front of the book.  Notice the title is in English.

This is the inside of the book.  I think it’s Chinese?

 I keep it with my cookbooks for quick reference 😉

 

The next one I have featured before.  I just love the idea of a popcorn diet, don’t you?  I’m thinking the “PLUS” must include chocolate somehow.  I mean, what else could it possibly be?

 

Re-found this last night.  These words speak for themselves. 

Only 35 cents!  What a bargain!  And check out what I found inside.   A clipping from Woman’s Day (it says on the back) from 1954!  Ha!  That’s funny that someone clipped this!  Just couldn’t live without that list 😉  Do you think Woman’s Day still publishes updated Scrabble lists?  I really should enquire about that!

 Note:  check out “THE END”.  Classic.

 

Now, brace yourself for THE CROWNING GLORY:

You know you want this book now so you can make that lovely item on the right side of the cover!  Admit it!

 

P.S.   This doesn’t count as a book, but I found it in a poetry book about 8 years ago.

It’s not the card, though, that made me keep it.  It was what was written inside.

That’s just sweet!  (Is it weird that I kept someone else’s love note to their spouse?)

This entry was posted in Whimsicles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Collections

  1. Laura says:

    I love it – especially the pantyhose book! I bet Martha Stewart would too!

    • admin says:

      I knew I wouldn’t regret showing that off! Glad there are other people out there who find this stuff amusing!

  2. Laura says:

    I love it – especially the pantyhose book! I bet Martha Stewart would too!

  3. Secret Mommy says:

    That pantyhose book probably holds so many untold delights! I bet a person could make some up and be featured on Regretsy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

