Zippered mattress cover

I just spent WAY too much time fighting with my mattress cover!  It is one of those ones that totally encases the mattress with a zipper.  A zippered mattress cover originally seemed like a nice enough idea, considering that DH and I have spent an inordinate amount of time re-applying the corners of mattress covers and sheets.  However, I have now discovered that zippered mattress covers are the product of some sadistic creepoid who felt the need to take out his insomnia on poor unsuspecting suckers like me!

It started this morning when I tried to remove the d*** thing!  In order to get out from between the mattress and box spring, you pretty much have to prop the mattress up on it’s side, which is no easy feat when you have anything bigger than a twin.  So, after working up a sweat removing the mattress cover, I set it in a pile on the floor to take to the laundry room.  And while I was busy stripping the pillows of their dressings, my dog, for some reason which I will never be enlightened of, decided that the freshly made pile would be the ideal place to vomit.  I don’t blame the dog for this.  It’s clearly not her fault.  She was probably feeling the evil vibes emanating from it.

Anyway, after it was all washed and dried and smelling lovely (as a cool as a spring breeze 😉 ), it took me a good 25 minutes to get that sucker back on the mattress.  Probably 10 of those minutes was spent just trying to figure out which side of the cover matched up with which side of the mattress!  I’m still not entirely sure that it’s on correctly.  I managed to get it zippered (tightly), but there is one corner, (not a whole side, but one corner) that is very loose and floppy.  What’s up with that?  If it’s on wrong, shouldn’t the whole side be all loose and floppy?  I am flummoxed!  (Are you thinking now that I wrote this entire post JUST so that I could use the word “flummoxed”?).

Whatever!  Would it be too gross to NEVER change the mattress cover again?  Hmmm…I’m thinking it’s about time for a new mattress.

This entry was posted in Irksomes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zippered mattress cover

  1. Deb says:

    I feel your pain. 🙂

    I had to do my mattress topper cover awhile ago. Yes, “awhile” means I haven’t done it IN awhile haha……..I’m still in therapy sessions from the last time.

Leave a Reply

