Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes for dinner.  I made them with tempeh*.  This is only the second time I’ve made tempeh successfully.  The first time I ever tried to make it, I thought I would gag.  But now I know, thanks to the vegan coach http://www.vegancoach.com/tempeh.html that you absolutely need to steam it before using it in a dish. 

So, you just crumble the tempeh up and start frying it up in some oil.  Add in:

  • tomato sauce
  • 1 onion  or about 1/2 Tbsp. onion powder
  • 1 chopped or pureed roasted red pepper
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1-2 cups tomato sauce
  • 1-2 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • a pinch of chili powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • about 1 tsp. ground black pepper
  • a splash of pickle juice (or vinegar)
  • about a Tbsp. of brown sugar
  • a few drops tabasco sauce

Play around with the spices to suit your own taste.  Slap it all on some sort of bread and eat it while it’s hot! 

*In the past I have used TVP or tofu for this dish and that works fine too. 

 

Oh yeah…and it seems like everyone likes them…at least I didn’t hear any griping about them, so that’s what I’m assuming.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

  1. Cheryl B. says:

    Hi :-} I followed your “link up” over from Jen’s homemaking haven.

    Don’t really have anything to say, just wanted you to know that your link up is being used.

Leave a Reply

