"Getting to the Heart of Interfaith"

Getting to the Heart of Interfaith: The Eye-Opening, Hope-Filled Friendship of a Pastor, a Rabbi, & a Sheikh by Pastor Don Mackenzie, Rabbi Ted Falcon and Sheikh Jamal Rahman…

I wanted to like this book.  Honest.  I certainly admire these guys for taking on this subject and who wouldn’t love a trio of people who are seriously trying to learn how to live in peace with other people?

I think this book would probably make an excellent study guide for a small discussion group.  But for general reading, I was a bit disappointed.  I guess I expected something a little more passionate and inspirational.  I think these guys needed to tell more of their story to get their audience more engaged, and then maybe give the more instructional material.  Maybe even do it in two separate books.  I thought the book was written a bit like a series of magazine articles…which might work out better.  I have to confess that I only made it about a third of the way through the book, but like I said, I really wanted to like this book, so a third of the way is a lot further than I would go with most other books that I wasn’t connecting with.  I feel kind of bad saying I didn’t like it because I know a lot of work went into it.  These guys probably put their heart and soul into it.  Having said all that…I think there are plenty of people out there who would love this style of writing.  So, if you give it a try, I would love to hear what you thought about it.

This entry was posted in Books and Movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

