Cabbage Soup

You probably can guess the reaction I got from the soup haters as I served this up.   “Ewwww”.  Personally, I think it’s delicious and I’d be willing to bet that anyone that comes to it without a preconceived notion about it, would think so too.

I adapted the recipe from one my friend gave me (thanks:)  Mine is a vegetarian version.  The original recipe calls for ground beef and Italian sausage.  The first time I made it I made some mock sausage.  To do this, use a small box of gluten flour, add spices and water.  Use approximately equal amounts of water to gluten flour.  Cut into small pieces and let it boil in the soup.  Spices for the mock sausage:

  • 1 Tbsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. ground fennel seed
  • 1 and 1/2 Tbsp. paprika
  • 1 Tbsp. minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 3 Tbsp. red wine vinegar

This time around I just bought the Italian sausage that Morningstar Farms makes.  The original recipe made the meat into meatballs, but I’m too lazy for that.  I just cut it up and threw it in the pot with the rest of the ingredients:

  • 5-6 cups water
  • 1/2 cup Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (if you want to use soy sauce, try 1/4 cup and adjust to taste)
  • 1 can (15-16 oz.) diced tomatoes
  • 8 ounces tomato sauce
  • 2 cups sliced cabbage
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced
  • 1 pound green beans, chopped into bite size pieces (fresh, canned, frozen, whatever moves ya)

Simmer until vegetables are tender.

To be perfectly honest, I’m quite confident that you could just put the spices in without any meaty textured stuff and this soup would still be great.  (Good news for the gluten intolerant people!)

 

 

The cornbread is adapted from a basic cornbread recipe.  I exchanged the regular flour for whole wheat pastry flour.  I exchanged the milk for yogurt.  I exchanged the egg for egg replacer.  I exchanged part of the sugar for Stevia (a natural sweetener).  Here’s the adapted list:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp. EnerG Egg Replacer
  • 1-2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1/8 tsp. Stevia extract powder
  • 3 Tablespoons unsalted butter (melted)
  • water (enough to make a batter)

Mix dry ingredients.  Mix wet ingredients.  Mix together.  Pour into greased pie dish.  Bake for 20-25 minutes in pre-heated 350 degree oven.

The kids and I love cornbread, but DH hates it.  I guess 3 out of 4 isn’t too bad.  The soup?  Well, you can’t win ’em all.  DH said “it’s ok”.  I think it’s worth trying.  Would love to hear your opinion, especially if you try it out on a teenager.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

