The Birth Control Bully

I forgot when I set up my doctor’s appointment for today that I should make sure not to get the doctor that I intensely dislike.  Crud!  I think that office must use her as the default doctor or something because if you don’t remember to request to NOT have an appointment with her, guess what happens!  The reason I don’t like her is because she is such a birth control bully!  The first time I ever met her, the first thing she said to me was “why don’t we have you on the birth control pill?” as if I didn’t have any say in the matter!  When I tried to tell her I’d rather not be putting unnatural substances in my body and that I would prefer to try more natural things first, she told me that even natural stuff has it’s bad side effects.  And she continued to be very derisive towards me.  That was probably 7 or 8 years ago.  I’ve only accidentally had an appointment with her maybe two other times. 

Today, she wasn’t as bad as before, but still very pushy about the birth control.  Blahbiddyblahblahblah…if she had a nickel for every time a woman my age came in with an unexpected pregnancy because (apparently we are all so dense after the age of 40) they didn’t really think they would get pregnant at their age.  She sure did want to make sure that I was using SOME kind of birth control.  I guess that she couldn’t possibly conceive (no pun intended) that maybe if a 40+ year old woman got pregnant, maybe she’d be okay with that.  But then, how would she know…she didn’t even bother to ask

And no, I’m not looking to birth more kids.  But after the initial shock, I’m sure I would be fine with it, if that’s what plate the universe handed me.   

This entry was posted in Irksomes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Birth Control Bully

  1. Mary says:

    What a b…..! Nice bedside manner! I sure wouldn’t want her to be in the delivery room with me!

  2. admin says:

    Seriously! Can you imagine? She’d probably be lecturing you on birth control while you were screaming for an epidural!

Leave a Reply

