Fracking

I never heard of fracking before today.  My husband heard them talking about it on the news this morning.  I wasn’t able to catch a lot about it, being that it was that time in the morning when too many other things are going on.  Then on my grocery shopping trip this morning, the owner of the organic food store asked me if I’d heard of it and said he might get a rally going about it. 

I looked up fracking and the most relevant answer (on Wikipedia) was:

“Fracking (also “fracing”) may refer to hydraulic fracturing of oil or gas wells, in which a slurry of sand and chemicals is injected into the rock formation at high pressure. The fracking fluid weakens and fractures the surrounding rock, making it more permeable and thus easier to pump the oil or gas from the well. However, use of fracking chemicals[fn 1] have been blamed for environmental pollution and serious illness such as cancer.[6].

 

Come to think of it, maybe one of the other definitions is kind of relevant…you’ll have to look that one up for yourself…I’m keeping it clean today…but I’m sure you can get a good idea without me going into any discussion about it.

Anyone else hear anything about this lately?

This entry was posted in Just thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fracking

  1. Ben says:

    Does it come from the word fracture?

  2. admin says:

    Sounds reasonable to me. I guess we need a word sleuth to give us the scoop on that.

  3. Vicki says:

    Sounds like something they do in fraggle rock.

  4. admin says:

    Ha! I don’t EVEN want to know!

Leave a Reply

