Teenagers and religion

Yesterday I was just checking out my son’s facebook wall and there was a discussion going on about what is the right age to lose one’s virginity.  It’s always interesting to see what the teens are saying, mostly because it throws you into a state of nostalgia about the way that you used to think.  The thing I found most interesting about this conversation was that there was a girl on there who was very adamently professing her religious opinion about the whole topic.  Now, there were plenty of other people on there who held the same view, as well as people who had completely the opposite view.  The thing that struck me about this girl was how she was trying to convince an atheistic type that she (the atheist type) would someday change her mind about god.  I found it a little odd that this girl was so convinced that the other person would be the one to change her beliefs, without perceiving that maybe someday SHE herself would be the one who might change.  After all, many, many people experience an incomparable religious fervor when they are in their teens and early adulthood.  Then  (I would venture to say) the fervor settles down after some life experiences show you that being overzealous might not be the way to approach other people.  Even those who remain very strong in their faith start to realize that what people are looking for in their religious experience is not mania, but peace.  Granted, there are plenty of older adults who never get over their overzealous demonstration of their religious beliefs, but I just found it kind of surprising that this girl seemed to have no idea that at some point in time she might start to see things a little differently than she does now.   I try to think back to when I was that age and I went through a phase of religious fervor, and I wonder, was I that blind?  While I think it’s safe to say I was not nearly so out of my mind as some others can get (ask my parents if you really want to know), I can remember moments where I was completely shut off to any different viewpoints. 

What do you think?  Am I presuming too much to say that most people experience a phase like this and then settle down?  It happens in non-religious circles too…idealism belongs to the young, right?

This entry was posted in Just thinking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

